Trumbull – To the 3 Corporals, Ced and Jean – Highlights of Local News – April, 1943

trumbull-house-from-the-front-showing-the-steps-to-the-front-door

Trumbull, Conn., April 18, 1943

 

To the 3 corporals, Ced and, Jean:

Poem For the day:

Oh, what a happy world t’would be

And sure, I don’t mean maybe

If Mrs. Schickegruber

Had never had a baby.

          With this exalted thought with which to start off my weekly bugle, I shall now return to more mundane matters. First about Grandma. She writes: “Shall I say you are a peach? I wish you could know how I prayed for your answer. Your letter arrived about an hour ago. I had written to Dorothy much the same as I had written to you. She replied that Anne is now at Conde Nast’s in Greenwich as a receptionist and that Gweneth and I are to come there to stay. I prefer Trumbull but on account of Gweneth, too, leaving here, I believe I had better follow their plans for now. I am coming to Trumbull some time, if only for a visit. A thousand thanks for your goodness and of course you will hear from me soon. My love to all of you. Mother”. There is more of a personal nature to her letter, but the salient facts are as above.

California came through with the letter this week. Lad says my letter reached him on his birthday which he celebrated locally by attending a party in his honor of the occasion given by one of his lady friends. Marian, he says, resembles Babe in a number of ways, even to her occupation. Lad has resumed his diesel teaching, but has run up against lack of cooperation on the part of one of his superior officers, which takes some of the joy out of the work. This sort of thing, in my experience, is quite common. In almost every big organization there is always someone who makes life miserable.

Dan also sends a cryptic message expressing delight in the prospect of Grandmother coming here, and informing me he is going back to Lancaster for a week of bayonet training (this goes over big, as you can imagine, with Dan).

Jean (Mrs. Richard) Guion

Jean (Mrs. Richard) Guion

A postal from Jean announces that Dick is a Corporal Technician. She has acquired a coat of tan; has met a girl with whom she shares an apartment where they cook their meals.

A few highlights of local news: Elizabeth was up here one day this week and on the way home ran into Smoky with her car. He is pretty lame but otherwise seems to be O.K. Mrs. Ives is home from Florida. The Trumbull’s are staying with her. Catherine and Paul (Warden) have gone to Mass. to bring home their children. Irv. Zabel is home from the southern Pacific. He returns soon to join a crew on a newly commissioned destroyer. Art Mantle, whom he saw quite frequently, is back in service again but is on coast patrol duty. Dave has quit the state guard because of “pressure of other business”. We have been quite busy at the office for the past two weeks. I hope it continues.

Dan: As requested, I shall renew your driver’s license. Lad: Do you intend to renew your P.S. license? Dick: Better let me know about that insurance. Jean: If you have not made return reservation you had better do so at once as I understand they are booked up to the middle of May on the good trains from many places in Florida. No checks have come from you yet.

Well, so much for this week’s Clarion. Have you heard the new song in which Herr Goebels says if they continue to lose planes at the present rate the war won’t even last for the duration.                                    DAD

4 thoughts on “Trumbull – To the 3 Corporals, Ced and Jean – Highlights of Local News – April, 1943

  1. Mrs. P says:

    A flurry of information…he certainly kept everyone aware of what needed doing…quite the logistical man.

Leave a Reply

