Army Life – Easter Greetings From South Pasadena – April, 1943

Alfred Peabody Guion (Lad)

Alfred Peabody Guion (Lad)

apg-easter-greetings-from-south-pasadena-april-1943

Notice this writing paper was supplied by the U.S.O. – THE YOUNG MEN’S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATIONS * THE NATIONAL CATHOLIC COMMUNITY SERVICE * THE SALVATION ARMY * THE YOUNG WOMEN’S CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION * THE JEWISH WELFARE BOARD * THE NATIONAL TRAVELER’S AID ASSOCIATION

Easter Greetiings

South Pasadena

April 21, 1943

Dear Dad:-

Things have been going too-well and therefore I have not gotten around to writing. I am using my new pen. Thanks. It is O.K. I would prefer a wider point, but to get one I will also require a heavier pressure, which I don’t want. So I’ll use this as it is.

I got my three-day pass as scheduled, but the girl who owns the house on Arrowhead Lake was taken sick just before we were to leave and so we called it off. She has since undergone an operation, and is much better, so I hope that we will be able to make it on our next pass.

General Campbell came out to Santa Anita today, and we spent all afternoon in the broiling sun on the parade ground, dressed in our O.D. uniforms, helmets and no ties. Gee-the helmets are hot, even though they are two-piece (inner – fiber: outer   steel).

I am now a Sergeant and have been given the same type of job as I had in Aberdeen, chief of section, which calls for a Staff rating. Therefore, I expect that in two or three months I shall be given a chance to take the Staff exam. Nothing definite as yet, however. As to our course in Diesel Fundamentals – it is still in the air.

Last Saturday I bowled 180 – my highest game. I’m getting better, slowly but surely, and someday, before long, I hope I’ll hit better than 200, which is considered above the average.

You mentioned something in your last letter about Dan seeing a notice on his bulletin board concerning overseas. We have not heard anything definite as yet, but activities seem to point toward something of that sort for most of us. There are some, however, who are considered indispensable, and I have a very good chance of being in the latter group.

It is 10:00 Wed. eve and I’m at the Hospitality House, and my feet are just aching for a dance, so adios.

My love to all.

Laddie

This weekend I’ll post more of Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure.

Next week, I’ll begin posting letters from 1945. We will finally hear about Dan’s wedding to Paulette.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

