Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure (15) – From Grandma Peabody – Bus Accident in Ossining – July, 1934

Grandma Peabody

Grandma Peabody-Anna Charlotta Westlin Peabody

(Grandma Arla’s mother)

August eight

Dear Cedric,

I was so relieved when I received your card telling of being at Uncle Kenneth and Aunt Nora’s. You did not state how long you expected to stay with them but I am taking a chance hoping this letter will find you still there on the farm.

It’s wonderful to know you are meeting so many of the relatives. I’m sure you will enjoy knowing them all. Don’t you think Uncle Kenneth and Aunt Nora very nice? I fell in love with her when I met her.

Last Sunday afternoon Burton (Peabody) and I went over to Trumbull, having received a letter from Elizabeth inviting us, also telling us Aunt Corinne was there on a visit. I don’t suppose you remember her very much, do you? It was nice to see the family again. Laddie and Daniel were home. Dickey was away at camp. They all seemed fine.

Monday afternoon I was very pleasantly surprised by Anne (Peabody Stanley)and Dorothy (Peabody, Arla’s sisters) arriving unannounced. They are both fine. Aunt Anne expects to leave for Vermont the latter part of this week. Uncle Larry (Peabody) and Aunt Marian are leaving today. If you could hitchhike to Vermont too, you would have some more happy times.

Things here in Ossining are running along the usual way again. That gruesome accident made quite a stir up. ( http://archives.chicagotribune.com/1934/07/23/page/1/article/14-are-killed-in-bus-crash-23-others-hurt)  (https://www.facebook.com/HistoricOssining/posts/559085660800614) It was horrible. Most of those injured were brought up St. Paul’s Place to the hospital which is some blocks away on the street above us. Also the dead were taken to the undertaker who lives on the other side of St. Paul’s Church. As only one person could be carried in the ambulance and trucks, it took a long time before all were cared for. There was such a clanging of bells, and noise from autos. Hundreds of autos passed our place. Burton (Peabody) was very busy getting all possible information and did not get home till after midnight. One young man lost his father, mother and a sister, 13 years old.

Today’s papers are telling again of the terrible heat wave in the middle west, and that we will get it. Thermometer shows 80° today. I would love to hear from you again. Please give my love to everyone and keep a lot for yourself.

Lovingly,

Grandma

Tomorrow, we hear from Ced who is now in Star Prairie, Wisconsin. On Monday, I’ll begin posting letters from 1943. Lad has met Marian and he even wrote home about her so I guess things are going well for them.

Judy Guion

 

6 thoughts on “Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure (15) – From Grandma Peabody – Bus Accident in Ossining – July, 1934

  1. Admirable historical recording of this generation. I am especially appreciative as I am retired history teacher. You may enjoy the short book re Depression – “Brother Can You Spare A Dime”. The chapter on the Bonus Army is especially moving and heartbreaking. I understand. My father is 93. Thanks for your recent visit to my blog.

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Carl, I hope that I am doing one small part in keeping our history alive for all generations. I don’t believe there is very much information about home life during the war. Grandpa tells it like is was for him, and I think, for many others around the world.
      I’ll check out that book.

  2. Mrs. P says:

    So much family history is available in these letters…golden. By the way, the archives link did not go through but the Facebook one worked fine. If a person does not have Facebook, they will not be able to either one. 🙂

  3. Sheryl says:

    What a delightful way to end the letter, “Please give my love to everyone and keep a lot for yourself.”

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Thank you, Sheryl, I believe she was a warm person, loved by all who knew her. I think there was a special bond between Grandma Peabody and all six of the children. Her daughter, Arla, was only 42 when she passed away. My father was the oldest at 17 and Dave was the youngest at 7. Grandma Peabody and her other daughters, Helen, Anne and Dorothy, all helped with the children at various times.

Leave a Reply

