Trumbull (2) – A Sailor’s Difficulties Getting Married – July, 1945

mig-jean-mortenson-guion-and-marian-irwin-guion-june-1945

Jean (Mortensen) Guion and Marian (Irwin) Guion

Page 2    7/29/45

Did I mention in last week’s letter that Red Sirene is home? He is. A girl’s farewell party was given to Jean here Thursday night and from all reports it was a bang-up affair. Marion had the table most attractively decorated with the centerpiece depicting a tropical landscape, palm trees, sandy beach adjoining a pond, thatched hut, a couple of Brazilian natives running around in their birthday clothes, and Brazilian flags as place cards. Automatically, Marian became a member of the home decorating squad along with Ced and Dave. Dan still retains his seat as chairman of the greens committee. Tomorrow night, Mrs. Ives, Ethel and the young folks in the apartment are coming over here for a farewell dinner in Jean’s honor.  We’re going to miss that gal, Dick, so don’t linger in your hacienda any longer than is necessary after the Army throws you out.

Just one other anecdote before we get on with the letters from Dave and Ced. Saturday of last week the phone rang. U.S.O. from Bridgeport. A sailor and his girl wanted to get married right away. He had to go back that night. Could the J. P.(Justice of the Peace – Grandpa) issue the license and tie the knot quick. No. The J. P. had no authority to issue licenses. License bureau in Bridgeport closed until Monday. What to do. Only possibility was if Miss Helen Plumb, Town Clerk, living on Church Hill Road, could be located, a license might be issued and marriage performed in Trumbull. They phoned Miss Plumb. She was out but her mother said she would be home soon. They would taxi to her home. Between the taxi man and the U.S.O., they located a Church Hill Road (in Fairfield). Out they went to Fairfield. After some considerable inquiries they found that the Fairfield Town Clerk, had married a second time, to a Mrs. Plumb who had a daughter named Helen, so when they asked at the Town Clerk’s house in Fairfield if a Helen Plumb lived there, the answer was “Yes”. The taxi was dismissed. But Helen Plumb was not the Town Clerk. The Town Clerk was away. Perhaps it was the town clerk in Trumbull named Helen Plumb. It was. Another taxi to Trumbull. Meantime, the Trumbull Town Clerk had been waiting hours. Meanwhile, the J. P. had just decided to go out for a restaurant supper with Biss and Aunt Betty. Just before the Buick starter purred, up the driveway walked a sailor lugging a suitcase trailed by a girl. They had had enough of taxis and walked down from the Town Clerk’s house. The J. P. went into action on the cement Terrace and they all lived happily ever after, or maybe that’s just a fairytale. All rights copyrighted for plots for plays or movies.

I’ll finish up this letter tomorrow and Friday.

On Saturday, I’ll continue with more of Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure.

Judy Guion

6 thoughts on “Trumbull (2) – A Sailor’s Difficulties Getting Married – July, 1945

  1. Mrs. P says:

    I’ll bet he had a lot of cool JP stories! 🙂

    • jaggh53163 says:

      Mrs. P. – That he did. I remember, as a teenager, I was called into his apartment to act as a witness to a marriage. I felt very important.
      As my father has said, having his father as the J.P. of the town also helped get him out of trouble a few times !!!

      • Mrs. P says:

        now that would be a great story to hear! 😉

        • jaggh53163 says:

          Mrs. P. – In the recorded interview I did with my father, he says, “By the time I was 12, I was able to drive the car by myself. I talked my Mother into letting me drive to Kurtz’s Store. We has a 1925 Packard at that time, the road was so narrow that when I got to the junction of White Plains Road and Daniels Farm Road, there wasn’t much room to maneuver the car, so I went on down to Reservoir Avenue to turn around. On my way back, I saw a car coming towards me. It was Sheriff Stanley Boughton. He looked at me, turned around and accosted me in the store. He asked me if I had a license to drive, and I guess I said, “No.” He then asked me if my Mother knew that I was driving. When I said, “Yes”, he told me to take the car home and leave it there…. but I didn’t.
          I never got into trouble again until much later. After I got my license I was driving up in the Newtown area and apparently I was driving too fast. I got stopped for speeding. Nothing ever came of it because my Dad was the Justice of the Peace and, at that time, First Selectman of Trumbull.
          I remember another story my father told me during one of the recording sessions. He was older and had his license, was driving in town much too quickly. The Sheriff at that time chased him but wasn’t able to catch him. The sheriff went to Grandpa and told him of the incident. He said, “It’s a real good thing I didn’t catch him.”
          Lad was crazy about cars from the first time he drove, which was about the time he was 8 and drove Grandpa to the hospital because a piece of straw had gotten into his eye and he couldn’t see. He had to sit on Grandpa’s lap and tell Grandpa when to step on the gas or the brakes.

          I hope you enjoyed these stories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

