Trumbull (4) – Closing Comments From Grandpa – July, 1945

Page 4    7/29/45

You’ll be able to see this island, Dad, after the war is over. You’ll be able to see all the things I’ve written about, hills, valleys, streams, customs, people. You be able to say one of your sons fought the Nips here. And in return, you get a smile from these simple folks. But will you be able to say the same thing in Europe? Will you get a smile from those people when you say that two of your sons came over and fought on their land? Truthfully, I can’t answer these questions because I don’t know just how far this non-fraternization policy is going in Germany. But somehow, I don’t think you will be welcomed in Europe as you will be here when you say your sons were in the war. I only hope we can treat the Japs the same way as we have treated the Okinawan. I, for one, will have a smile for the enemy if I ever get up into his home territory.

Dave, I won’t go into further comment on your ideas. I don’t think we Americans are universal practitioners of Christianity in the sense of living by the golden rule, but in the main, you are basically right. A worldwide following of such a simple thing as the golden rule would indeed outlaw not only all wars but well-nigh, all crime as well. From what I have read they have considerably softened the harsh rule since Dan wrote his diatribe against the policy. Knowing how humane General Eisenhower is, I feel he must have had a good reason for what he did in the first place. Maybe the sex angle had something to do with it, in view of the low state of morals under the Hitler regime, I don’t know. I happened to run into Roy Hart the other day near my office (not Percy). He used to be in the G. E. He was the one Cullen told us about who distributed evangelical pamphlets, was very religious, etc. There is also a Percy Hart I think, who lives in Long Hill also, who is connected with the Bridgeport Boys Club. I’m going to try to get a box of things off to you soon. Denny asks me every once in a while in his high tenor voice “ Howsa boy?” And when I tell him “find”, he says “Thasa good.” Someday, if he follows his continued threats, he will write you.

Aunt Elsie is with us today. Her leg is much better. It is almost time for her to leave and I have spent so much time already writing this letter that I have hardly visited with her at all, hence I think I shall stop right here, with the promise that next week will also bring another interesting quote from Ced, and possibly more news about the newlyweds. Until then, my boys, a hearty good luck wish from

DAD

Tomorrow and Sunday, I;ll continue with Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure.

On Monday, I’ll begin a week of letters from 1941. Lad is home and working in Bridgeport at the Producto Plant but anxious about his draft status. Dan, Ced and Dick are all in Alaska, wondering the same thing.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

