Trumbull – Dear Remainders (2) – September, 1941

This continues yesterday’s letter from Grandpa to his three sons in Alaska.

ADG - 1964 Christmas Card - pg. 2 - Trumbull House

Lad, right now, has a cold but is feeling better than he did yesterday. He went horseback riding with Babe yesterday afternoon. Dave and I had some unfinished business with Dick – – we replaced boards on the coal bin which he had taken off in a burst of energy last spring and which had to be put back if we wanted to retain any coal in the bin. We then went out and chopped a fraction of a cord of kindling wood for the fireplaces. He is developing into quite a husky lad, according to Paul, who had a wrestling bout with him the other evening and also according to the husky cuts he makes with the axe. He is also tackling his school work with ardor and still has time and energy enough left over to help cheerfully and considerably with things around the house. I think going away on a camping trip with him now would be an entirely different story over what it was the last time we headed Gaspé way.

Mrs. Warden, who has been for three weeks expecting daily to go to the hospital to see if they have a little baby sister for Skipper is still reluctant. Darn these war orders anyhoo. Somebody has a priority on babies or perhaps there is a strike in the “labor” union. No matter what the reason, she has not yet presented her husband with an income tax exemption.

Kemper drove up Wednesday and was about to leave just as I came back from a meeting at the town hall of the ambulance fundraising committee. We talked for a couple of hours about the family, his personal affairs, etc. he is strongly flirting with the idea of buying a farm somewhere in Vermont that will be self-supporting. Financially, of course, he is able to afford it, but whether he will finally go through with it is a bit uncertain, as he hardly feels like giving up his business entirely. Franklin, he says, has in mind following up agriculture for a livelihood so sooner or later they might work around to something of this sort.

Knowing that Dan never lets any grass grow under his skis, I thought I would be a step ahead of him, so Saturday morning I went to see Eleanor Varrel to tell her Dan was on his way home and would probably be looking for a job in some defense industry that would possibly earn him a deferment. She will be on her vacation this week but we’ve got it all fixed to see someone else that Eleanor will first speak to in the meantime.

With that five dollars you send me for my birthday, Ced, I have made a down payment on a gold seal ring to be engraved with the Guion coat of arms, the balance will come from the generous fund Dick and Dan sent so that the ring will be a joint present from you three boys which is the way I would like to have it.

This week I received the following letter from Sylvia Leeds:

“Ever since I came here in July I have been meaning to write you about my new job, but somehow I can never catch up on my correspondence. However I have thought of you all a great deal during all these months and wondered how you’ve been getting on – – especially the ones in various corners of the globe. I myself had a very busy and rewarding time looking after those children in Manhasset, but when they went to camp in July, by great good fortune, I got a job with the British Consulate Gen., as a telephone operator, as they needed an English voice on the switchboard. It’s quite fun and interesting too, as I do work at the information desk as well as answer strange questions from the public (when I can).

The rest of this letter seems to be missing.

Tomorrow I’ll be posting another letter from Grandpa to Alaska.

On Friday, another, longer letter from Grandpa, but I wanted to include the whole letter in this week.

On Saturday and Sunday, more of Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure as he gets closer to arriving in Trumbull.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

