Trumbull – Dear Twiddledum and Twiddledee – October 5th, 1941

adg-twiddledum-and-twiddledee-october-51941

In the upper right of this letterhead is the title PROSECUTOR & CLERK,

with the name of ALFRED D. GUION below it.

Trumbull, October 5th, 1941

Dear Tweedledum and Tweedledee:
DPG - Dick on IslandWell the great day has come and gone, or perhaps I had better say has come and is still with us. Dan arrived onCed and car - 1940 (3)-head shot Friday as per schedule. I don’t know why it is that the weather man always plans a juicy return for my boys. We met Lad in a pouring rain and, in spite of the fact that September has been a phenomenally dry month, having established a record in these parts for a minimum of rainfall for a number of years, it decided Friday to make up for lost time. Dan’s telegram, if you recall, said the train was due at the Penn. station at 2 o’clock. Remembering that we were tardy in meeting him at the boat I determined that this procedure would not be repeated this time, so I allowed three hours for the trip, leaving the office a bit after 11, picking up Dave at Bassick (High School), making a delivery in Fairfield, and proceeding onto the Merritt Parkway. After riding around a bit to find a parking place near the station we finally disembarked at 1:20. We picked up a hasty snack at an automat nearby, telephoned to Elsie to tell her how Aunt Betty was getting along and arrived inside the waiting room at 1:40. The train was scheduled to arrive at 1:50 but when we finally reached the exit gate we were informed the train had arrived 10 minutes early and everyone was out. Then began a search through the big station, Dave on one side, I on the other. After a great deal of peering into ladies rooms, telephone booths, etc. I finally espied our long-lost son and brother and great was the joy thereof. Barbara had been looking forward to going down with us, but, because the only other clerk had to be away, Barbara couldn’t make arrangements with her office. We got Dan’s bags and drove home in the rain. Later Don and Barbara drove in and I invited them to supper. Then they hopped in Don’s car and picked up Jean M, Jean H, Chet, Evelyn, Biss and her two kiddies and Lad and ran off to the movies, both north and south wings. Last night (Carl and Ethel came in Friday also) Don and Barbara and Dick Christie and the home gang spent a very pleasant and entertaining evening looking at the enlargements of Dan’s colored 35mm stills. It certainly brings a warm feeling around the heart to have three boys home. I would like to make it five. Tell Dick, Jean and I got together and comforted one another on the absence of letters from Dick. We all agreed that Dick was all cockeyed in his wrong idea that he does not write an interesting letter. (Just a minute, Dick, and I’ll get out my little poem and read “it’s all in the state of mind” to you).Aunt Betty seems to be coming along fine. She has been very good about following the doctor’s orders and in consequence is showing much improvement. This is not only my opinion from observation but both the doctor who came again yesterday, and the nurse, say the same thing. In fact the doctor let her sit up today and as she improves, this will occur over longer periods until she can get around again. She will just have to take it easy for a while.

Mr. Warden is finally a mother, his wife having giving birth to a little girl last Thursday.

Tomorrow is Election Day in Trumbull and I suppose Mr. Bailey will again be returned to the office of First Selectman.

Dan said something about going down with Lad tomorrow and seeing about a job at Producto.

Aunt Betty likes to look over my letters to you boys before I send them and as I do not want to worry her, I am not showing her this page.

Yesterday, George told me he had received a telegram from the War Department in Washington assigning him to work as a draftsman at Remington Arms, and to report there Monday. This leaves me high and dry because he is the only one I have had since Miss Denes left, with Dave coming in afternoons to do graphotype work. Life hands us these rude jolts from time to time, and even though you get hardened to it after a while, it does slow one down for a while. I haven’t the least idea what I can do. I have asked Miss Platt if she can take care of jobs temporarily until I can locate someone else but the trouble is that everyone that has my ability at all has a job at defense work at a good salary, and experienced multi-graph operators are few and far between even in normal times. George has promised to come in nights temporarily to take care of rush jobs. If things were not the way they are at home here, what with the necessity of getting the boys supper and taking care of Aunt Betty, I could go back to the office nights and try to learn running the multigraph myself from George. Of course, right now I’m feeling pretty low in spirits but I’ll get over it and find some way out. With only George and myself taking small salaries, and with the low rent we have been paying, we are not doing so poorly financially. In fact, for the last few months we have been able to catch up quite a bit on old debts, and I was looking forward to really getting caught up in being a lot better off than we have for some years. I have asked Estelle to come in tomorrow to help out, but this added to Aunt Betty’s illness and the added burdens at home because of it, ought to get my fighting spirit up. Dan’s homecoming is the one sweet spot that helps brighten things up. I don’t know why I am unburdening myself on you boys except that it perhaps eases the pressure a bit at your expense, but it’s a mean stunt anyway.

Today is been unseasonably warm and humid. The leaves are beginning to turn and a few have fallen but we have not yet had a real frost.

Guess that’s about all I can think of at this time.

DAD

This weekend, two more letters from Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure.

Next week, we begin a week of letters from 1943. Lad is in California and has been socializing with Marian Irwin, my Mother and the woman who would become his wife in about 6 months.Grandpa fills us in on the happenings of other family members.

Judy Guion

Leave a Reply

