Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure (22) – Special Photo – April, 1935

Peabody - Putnam Burton Peabodys note to Ced re photo - 1935

PEABODY - Kemper Foster Peabody, - 1886

2011 Park Ave., Topeka, Kansas, March 18/35

Dear Cedric:-

I am gathering up, and sending out to my various kindred, a number of trinkets that might interest them. My years must be growing steadily shorter, – and I wish to place my treasures with those that will appreciate and value them.

To YOU, therefore, I am sending an unusually good photo – portrait of your grandfather (Kemper Foster Peabody, Arla Peabody’s father), taken when he was young. It looks exactly as HE did, those days.

I have never been more busy, in all the 79 years of my life, than I am, just now. Several hours at the typewriter, daily, and I am compelled to make EVERYTHING BRIEF.

But I send love to you all: with my very best wishes,

Faithfully yours,

PB Peabody

(Putnam Burton Peabody, oldest brother of Kemper Foster Peabody, Arla Peabody Guion’s Father.)

And so we come to the end of Ced’s Coming of Age Adventure in September, 1934. Ced’s next adventure begins in 1941 when he and his older brother Dan, back from Venezuela for a year, leave Trumbull to travel to Anchorage, Alaska, where they hope to find jobs. 

This coming week I’ll post the stories of Dan and Paulette’s wedding in 1945, told from various viewpoints.

Judy Guion

 

 

Leave a Reply

