Army Life – Marian Writes To Ced In Alaska – Thoughts On A Wedding Gift – January 1, 1944

This is the start of a new year, literally, and in the rotation. Lad and Marian have been married for about six weeks. They celebrated Christmas on Dec. 21st because Lad was sent to Texarkana, Texas, leaving Marian back in South Pasadena, California. She plans on moving to join him as soon as possible.

Lad and Marian Guion's wedding - Nov. 14, 1943 - close-up with hat and coursage

Lad and Marian (Irwin) Guion at their wedding, November 14, 1943

Cedric Duryee Guion

Saturday 1/1/1944

Dear Ced –

How wonderful it must be to be home again, after three years, isn’t it? I know that it has been grand for your Dad to have you home, particularly at this time of year, and we envy you the good time you must be having. But not too much, however, for you certainly deserve it.

Lad and I enjoyed your telegram and letter so very much. It is going to be a grand day for me when I can meet all of you in person, for Lad has spoken of you so many times that I feel as though I’ve gotten a partial start toward knowing you. And your friendly letter helped, too.

Your letter mentioned that you would like to have suggestions for a wedding gift for us. If you haven’t gotten anything yet, may we have a rain check on that request until we know a little more definitely what our future plans are to be? I haven’t the slightest idea what Texarkana is like but I imagine that when (and if) I go to join Lad, that I will put our things in boxes and send them home for mother to keep until after the war. At that time we’ll be able to make our plans a little more definite. Thanks, though, for your offer and good wishes. All of you have made me feel so much “at home” that I feel as though I’ve known you for years. Best of luck to you, Ced, on your trip back to Alaska. Hope it won’t be so long next time before we see you again. Write to us occasionally, if we light long enough for a letter from way up there to catch up to us!

Very sincerely,

Marian
Tomorrow and Wednesday, we’ll have a letter from Grandpa to his scattered flock in Alaska, California, London, Brazil and Texarkana. He just keeps using more carbon paper and making more copies ! I will finish out the week with two letters from Marian to Grandpa. 

Judy Guion

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.